Does a real estate agent need a broker in California?
In California, an agent must undertake all licensed real estate operations under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker. That implies you must work for or be sponsored by a broker as an agent. To be sure, this structure is suitable for most real estate brokers.
Can I apply for a license if I’m behind on child support payments?
If you are on a list of those who have failed to comply with a court order to pay child support, the DRE cannot grant or renew a full-time license to you. The DRE will grant you a license for 150 days, during which you must be removed from the Department of Child Support Services’ list of obligors.
Can the DRE expedite my license application if I’m a Veteran?
Yes, you can request an expedited Salesperson License Application if you have previously held an active California real estate license and have received a discharge other than dishonorable from the United States Armed Forces.
How do you submit your application for a license to the DRE?
With its Real Estate eLicensing System, the DRE provides an online application. Create an eLicensing Account first. Once you’ve made your account, you may apply for an exam or the exam and license option. You can also submit your license application to the Department of Real Estate at: Department of Real Estate, P.O. Box 137001, Sacramento, CA 95813-7001.
What are the requirements to apply for a CA real estate license?
To apply for a CA REAL ESTATE license, you must be a United States citizen and have never been convicted of a felony in any jurisdiction; and you must have a Social Security Number (SSN).
You must also have earned a high school diploma or passed the GED test.
Instructions for completing the Real Estate Education Pre-License program are located on the DRE website, and a list of approved schools is posted on their website.
How much does it cost to get your real estate license in CA?
The state of California requires a $60 test cost and a $245 license fee to become a real estate salesman. Other expenses include Pre-Licensing course fees, ranging from $125 to $700 depending on the package and provider.
How long does the DRE take to process an application?
The DRE typically takes at least 6-8 weeks to process applications. If there are any differences, the process will be slowed even more. Submit the Combination Exam and License Application to expedite the process.
How long is my license application valid for?
If you applied for a Combined Exam, you have two years to pass the state exam and submit the necessary documents. You have one year from the day you passed the state test to submit your Salesperson License Application if you received one from the DRE or applied through the eLicensing system.
Since the real estate industry is so fast-paced, it’s no wonder why most agents get their real estate license as soon as they can. It also doesn’t hurt to know that a license can help improve your job prospects in the long run!
There is never a wrong time to pursue a career in real estate. You can always be a part of the industry.
At California Builder Services, our DRE Public Reporting Processing Services provide our clients with timely and accurate reports. We aim for accuracy and prompt service as we research preliminary report data, work with engineers, and coordinate sample document preparation.